100th Post – Candy Confetti Cupcakes

C.C.’s 100th Post - Candy Confetti Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

C.C.’s 100th Post – Candy Confetti Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

Wow 100 posts! To celebrate my 100th post I decided to make cupcakes from scratch. I have been apprehensive making cupcakes as mine never seem to get enough rise or lift and it’s quite vexing to me. I have been working on my cupcake decorating and piping techniques and I’m quite pleased with how my skills are growing. When I started I was using and offset spatula to decorate and now I have graduated to a proper piping bag and everything. So cheers to my first 100 posts and too many, many, many more to come.

Yield/Serving: 24
Prep Time: 25 min.
Cook Time: 15-18 min., cupcakes
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Cupcakes
• 1 cup 2% milk, at room temperature
• 4 large egg whites, at room temperature
• 1 whole egg, at room temperature
• 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
• 3 cups cake flour, sifted
• 1 cup granulated sugar
• 1 tbsp baking powder
• 1 tsp baking soda
• ½ tsp sea salt
• ¾ cup unsalted butter, softened and cut into cubes
• ½ cup sprinkles, or quinns
Maple Buttercream Frosting
• 1 cup unsalted butter, softened and cut into cubes
• 1 cup pure maple Canadian maple syrup
• 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
• 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
• Food colouring
• Non-pareils Sprinkles, coloured sugar, candy pearls, for decorating the top

Assembly
Cupcakes
1. Pre-heat oven to 350°F.
2. Prepare two muffin pans and line with cupcake liners and set aside.
3. In a large bowl combine egg whites, egg, vanilla extract and ¼ cup of milk and whisk.
4. Using an electric mixer using the paddle attachment, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda on a low speed for half a minute or so.
5. Add in the butter and blend for another half minute then add the remaining milk and mix until just moistened.
6. Now increase the speed and continue to mix for one and a half minutes.
7. Slowly start adding the egg mixture stopping between ever so often to allow the flour to absorb the egg mixture.
8. Once all of the egg mixture has been added fold in the sprinkles by hand until just combined.
9. Pour mixture into cupcake liners about ¾ of the way add bake for 15-18 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean when inserted.
10. Remove from baking pans immediately and let cool completely on a wire rack.
Frosting
1. Using an electric stand mixer with the whisk attachment cream butter on high until light and fluffy.
2. Add vanilla extract and beat until combined.
3. Add confectioners’ sugar one cup at a time until well combined.
4. Slowly add in the maple syrup and the food colouring until desired colour is achieved
5. Transfer frosting to a piping bag, and pipe along the top of the cake.
6. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
“You can tell your wife, I don’t like maple (but yes of course I still took a cupcake, I’m not stupid) and that she used the perfect amount of maple because it wasn’t overpowering…just a hint so it was yummy.”

Surprisingly there are many people, who don’t like maple syrup, and you call yourselves Canadians, it’s almost sacrilegious. They still enjoyed my cupcakes though as it wasn’t heavy on the maple syrup. It probably helped that the maple syrup I used is from one of my dad’s students as their parents own a maple syrup farm. You can really taste the difference when you have true & pure maple syrup versus the artificial brands.

My thoughts
I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I was putting a lot on this one recipe as it’s for my 100th post, but it came out great. Every time I looked through the oven window the cupcakes were doing its thing and looking great. The sprinkles in the batter added a lovely color to the cupcake and I made the icing it one of my favourite colours. Next time I will try to see if I can make the batter moister somehow. It wasn’t dry, but I just want to see if I can make is moister like the ones I get from the bakeries. I liked how it wasn’t too dense, as I prefer my cupcakes to be more light and airy versus dense. I think I have my scratch cupcakes recipe, now to start tweaking it.

C.C.’s 100th Post - Candy Confetti Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

C.C.’s 100th Post – Candy Confetti Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

C.C.’s 100th Post - Candy Confetti Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

C.C.’s 100th Post – Candy Confetti Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista


C.C.’s 100th Post - Candy Confetti Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

C.C.’s 100th Post – Candy Confetti Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

