Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey’s Black Currant Buttercream

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey's Black Currant Buttercream - Candy Coated Culinista

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey’s Black Currant Buttercream – Candy Coated Culinista

The recipe is a year overdue. I had hopes of making this a year ago for my Irish fella (Mr. C.); but once again time got away from me and next thing you know the snow has melted and I missed St. Patrick’s Day entirely. Well that’s not happening this year, we still have tons of snow and I made my Guinness Cake. See my picture here for the cooking club.

Yield/Serving: 6-8
Prep Time: 30 min.
Cook Time: Cupcakes 15 – 20 min, Cake – 35-40 min.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Cake
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 2 tbsp cocoa powder
• 1 tsp baking powder
• 1 tsp baking soda
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 4 tbsp unsalted butter
• 60g chopped good quality 70% cacao dark chocolate, chopped
• 1 cup granulated sugar
• 1 cup Guinness
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 large egg
Frosting
• 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
• 3 ¼ cups confectioners’ sugar
• 4 tbsp Caramel Bailey’s
• 2 tbsp black currant jam

Assembly
Cake
1. Grease one 6” round cake pan with cooking spray and place 3 cupcake liners in a cupcake pan.
2. Preheat oven to 350°F.
1. In a microwave safe bowl, melt butter and chocolate. (Stop the microwave at 30 second intervals and stir as to not burn the chocolate).
3. Once chocolate has melted, stir in sugar and remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes.
4. Whisk in Guinness along with vanilla extract until smooth.
5. Beat in egg until combined and then whisk in dry ingredients until smooth.
6. Pour batter into prepared pan until almost full, about ¾ of the way and bake for 10-15 min for the cupcakes and 30-40 minutes for the cake, or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
7. Let cool in pan until completely cooled, and then transfer to cake plate and frost.

Frosting
1. Using an electric stand mixer with the whisk attachment cream butter on high until light and fluffy.
2. Add Bailey’s Caramel Cream and beat until combined.
3. Add confectioners’ sugar one cup at a time until well combined.
4. Add in the jam and combine.
5. Transfer frosting to a piping bag, and pipe along the top of the cake.
6. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Tips
• Remove all fruit bits from the jam before putting into the batter, or it will clog the piping bag.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
“The cake that you made is ammmaazzing! It’s rich and complex. I could taste the Bailey’s. I’ve never had Guinness so not sure if the taste came out, but the blend of everything is so nice. The icing goes perfectly.”

My thoughts
I overcooked the cupcakes by 4 minutes, but the inside was still moist. My only problem was the cupcake top pulled away from the cupcake wrapper when peeled. When I put the extra into the cupcake wrappers I totally forget that the cupcakes would be finished faster as I had no intention of making cupcakes. The cake centre was still a little sunken in the middle, but I will figure that out next time. This was the first time my cake actually rose as my cupcakes tend to stay on the flatter side unless I use the box mix and C.C. it up. The Cake came out moist and had a shiny look to it once it came out of the pan and it smelt like Guinness to me. It turned out so well I surprised myself; but that wasn’t my only goal I had to try to properly pipe a cake for the first time and that worked also…another shocker. Until this post I hadn’t actually put a piping bag together. I have one I bought and never used (made of a lined cloth, but it just didn’t seem right), so with some new supplies I quickly googled how to fastening the tips to the bag and I was off. I couldn’t believe how well this turned out. It makes my cake decorating on the pink ombre cake look like a child did it. I know it looked bad when I did it but looking at it now it really did look childish. Now I can say I am a teenager in my decorating skills and I look forward to growing up into an adult someday. I was hoping for the buttercream to have a more berry flavour, but I was afraid to keep adding the jam as this was my first buttercream frosting from scratch. Next time I will add more jam and some purple food colouring to give it the extra oomph. Bottom line this was my best cake yet. Over all I had a great experience and am so stoked to do another cake. Mr. C. & I enjoyed the cupcakes and I gave away my cake to a friend.

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey's Black Currant Buttercream - Candy Coated Culinista

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey’s Black Currant Buttercream – Candy Coated Culinista

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey's Black Currant Buttercream - Candy Coated Culinista

Guinness Cake with Caramel Bailey’s Black Currant Buttercream – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

