Ancient Grain Breakfast

Ancient Grain Breakfast - Candy Coated Culinista

Ancient Grain Breakfast – Candy Coated Culinista

The journey the put more gluten-free and ancient grains into my diet continues. I bought this book after I made my bulgur wheat and black lentil salad, only to find this pairing in this book also I love when I think like the cookbook, it means I am on the right path and my food pairing process is true. I usually have smoothies for breakfast or toast or cereal, but I wanted to mix up my breakfast routine.

Altered from Grain Power

Yield/Serving: 1
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 15-20 min, then overnight in fridge
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 cup mason jar
• 2 tbsp steel-cut oats
• 1 tbsp amaranth seeds
• 1 tbsp red quinoa
• 1 ½ tbsp sultan raisins
• 1 tsp chia seeds
• Cinnamon, pinch
• ¾ cup boiling water
• 2 tbsp milk
• 1 tsp pure maple syrup
• 1 tbsp walnuts
• 1 tbsp, dried apricots
• 3 raspberries
• 3 blackberries
• 5 blueberries

Assembly
1. Pour oats, amaranth seeds, red quinoa, raisins, chia seeds and cinnamon into a mason jar.
2. Fill with boiling water.
3. Screw on lid and shake and let set for 15 to 20 minutes on the counter.
4. Shake again and place in fridge for 7 or more hours.
5. In the morning remove from the fridge and reheat in the microwave or in a saucepan until warmed.
6. Stir in milk to your desired consistency, maple syrup and sprinkle with walnuts, apricots and fruit.

Tips
• Ensure mason jar has a little more space, then you can add the nuts, and fruit to the jar in the morning and enjoy your breakfast at work.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This smelt great making this before bed. It took no time at all and I was hoping for great results in the morning. When I warmed it up it tasted good, I just have to get used all these grains. I was expecting it to taste like oatmeal with a twist, but I will put in more oats if I want it to be more like the traditional oatmeal. Over time I will learn to love this with some more tweaking.

Leave a Reply

