Sochi Olympic Inspired Borscht

Sochi Olympics Inspired Borscht - Candy Coated Culinista

Sochi Olympics Inspired Borscht – Candy Coated Culinista

It’s Olympics time and I’m an Olympic nut; I just love seeing people get a chance at their dreams. It’s awe-inspiring, the countless hours of practice, gruelling schedules, physical and mental pain, injuries and rehab. They do all to make it to the big event where they can show the world, their country and themselves what you’re made of. They do this because they love it and they can’t see their lives without this sport. These athletes aren’t making the huge amount of cash like professional sports players do, so you know it’s about the love and passion they have. In these two weeks I get some of my poorest sleep; i’m up early going to sleep late, watching 3 stations to keep up to date on who’s wining what just so I can cheer Canada on all the way. Sure I have my favourites from other countries that I follow and love, but nothing gets between me and my Canadian pride. As soon as the Olympics started I knew I had to make something Russian. Lucky for me my mother in-law is Russian, so I asked to borrow a Russian cookbook and I went searching for Borscht one of the most popular Russian dishes.

Adapted from Classic Russian Cuisine

Yield/Serving: 6-8
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
• Vegetable oil
• 2 ½ pounds chicken legs with bones
• 6 cups water
• 1 bunch parsley, chopped
• 1 bunch dill, chopped
• Salt, to taste
• Pepper, to taste
• 3 medium beets, peeled, halved and sliced
• 1 cup white vinegar
• 1 medium onion, julienned
• 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
• 1 tbsp tomato paste
• 2 medium red skinned potatoes, cubed
• ¾ pound red cabbage, sliced
• Handful of parsley, chopped
• Handful of dill, chopped
• 2 tbsp, sour cream

Assembly
1. Sear chicken in a large frying pan with vegetable oil and set aside.
2. Make a broth with water and the parsley, dill, salt, pepper and chicken and simmer for 1 hour.
3. Over medium heat place beets in a saucepan of vinegar and steam until vinegar is almost evaporated and turn off heat.
4. After the broth has been simmering for 1 hour, strain out the chicken, parsley and dill and place back on heat.
5. Shred chicken and add in the beets along with the leftover vinegar if any is remaining, onions, tomatoes, tomato paste, potatoes, cabbage and continue to cook for 30 minutes.
6. In the last five minutes add in the chopped dill and parsley.
7. Serve with a huge dollop of sour cream.

Tips
• This was my fast version of this recipe as I made this on a weeknight and had little time. Increase the simmering time to let the ingredients marry more.
• This tasted better the next as the ingredients had more time to marry.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I’m not sure if I am a fan of borscht yet. I eat all of these ingredients in different ways all the time but in a beet soup I’m not sure yet; also the sour cream in a soup in new to me. The next day this soup tasted much better and I omitted the sour cream from my portion. Mr. C. said it was good and tasted like it should. I guess I need to get my stomach accustomed to this dish.

Comments

  1. I love Borscht! Instead of chicken I usually use wieners, beef and pork! Maybe you’d like that version better! I grew up with this soup. Awesome for hangover as well 🙂 You might wanna try Seljanka as well, also a great Russian soup.

Leave a Reply

