Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia with Shrimp

Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia with Shrimp - Candy Coated Culinista

Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia with Shrimp – Candy Coated Culinista

Black pasta, is there such as thing? Cuttlefish has ink? Who knew is what went through my mind when I saw a commercial for Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia with Clams. I thought the idea of black pasta was kind of cool and then I learned that ink in sea creatures doesn’t only come from cephalopods but other sea creatures like the cuttlefish can create ink. Well didn’t a 30 seconds commercial teach me a lot.

Yield/Serving: 6-8
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
• 1 onion diced
• Red pepper, diced
• Yellow pepper, diced
• Orange pepper, diced
• 4 cloves garlic, minced
• ½ tsp sea salt
• ½ tsp ground black pepper
• ½ tsp salt crushed red pepper flakes
• ¾ cup pitted kalamata olives
• ½ cup dry white wine
• 349g (1 ½ cups) shrimp, thawed with tails left on
• 750g Nero Di Seppia Spaghetti
• ½ cup parsley, chopped
• Parmesan cheese, to taste

Assembly
1. Set a large pot of salted water with a little vegetable oil to a boil.
2. In a frying pan with olive oil on medium-high heat and add onions, peppers, garlic, spices and cook for a few minutes.
3. Add in olives and garlic and continue cooking for a 2 minutes.
4. Add the wine and bring to a boil, then add shrimp cover and cook until shrimp are cooked through thoroughly and remove from heat.
5. Once water is boiling place pasta in and cook until al dente; drain in a colander.
6. Combine the shrimp with the pasta in a platter and sprinkle parsley and parmesan cheese over top.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
“The pasta was delicious; the shrimp was cooked perfectly although I would have preferred if it had been shelled. Loved the seasoning and the wine sauce was great as well. The veggies weren’t too soft and were just the right firmness too and added great flavour to it.”

My thoughts
Delicious and I felt quite “chefy” making this dish. It’s simple, but eye-catching and I got to practice my knife skills with my new J.A. Henckels Professional Knife set. Man are these knives sharp, I already took out a piece of my finger nail when the knife jumped within the first few days of having this set. 90% of my vegetables were all the same size as I am getting better, but uniformity adds to my prep time for sure. The wine sauce was delicious and the shrimp was perfectly cooked. Next time I will try it with clams, as Mr. C. loves his molluscs. I think i’ll take a walk down to St. Lawrence Market and get some fresh seafood.

Leave a Reply

