Caramel Gluten-Free Brownies

Caramel Gluten-Free Brownies - Candy Coated Culinista

Caramel Gluten-Free Brownies – Candy Coated Culinista

Less fat, more fibre, gluten-free and this is all going to taste good right? It seemed to me like a lot to ask of a little brownie and furthermore I don’t believe it! As is my usual process I made this once per the recipe and the second time I experimented. To my surprise this turned out so well that I couldn’t believe all that was promised was achieved. View my photo in the cooking club gallery here.

Altered From Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 9
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 40-45 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 2 ½ cups confectioner’s sugar
• 2 cups ground almonds
• 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
• 1/8 tsp salt
• 4 egg whites
• 2 tsp vanilla
• Confectioner’s sugar, to dust
• 1/3 cup caramel, to drizzle

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 300°F.
2. Line an 8” x 8” pan with parchment paper and let the paper hang over the pan.
3. In a large bowl whisk sugar, ground almond, cocoa and salt until combined. (Don’t Over mix)
4. Pour batter into pan.
5. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.
6. Lift brownies out of pan using the parchment paper and let cool completely on a wire rack.
7. Dust with confectioner’s sugar.
8. Pour caramel into a small microwave safe bowl and microwave for 10 seconds and drizzle over brownies.
9. Serve and enjoy right away.

Tips
• Serve with a glass of milk, ice cream or whipped cream.
• Look for a caramel sauce that doesn’t have a high sugar content or make your own.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
The piece Mr. C. and I shared fresh out of the oven tasted delicious. It was sweet, rich, dense, and scrumptious and the caramel added an extra complexity, but not adding any sweetness. I would suggest eating these immediately as the shelf life is very limited. The first batch I made was decent the next morning, but the second time I made it the brownies firmed up much faster. They where rock hard, and when I say rock hard I mean they could be weapons, a sock filled with these brownies or baker brownie throwing stars. Mr. C. said “It’s the lack of Gluten that made it get hard so fast” This made me crack up. I will make this one more time with the remaining ground almonds I have and see if the third time I can lengthen the shelf life.

**Upon further research I probably over mixed this batter. The first time I did this recipe I hand mixed in a bowl vs. the second time I used the electric mixer. Also all baking is an exact science where proper measurements must be used. I have a feeling in gluten-free baking you must be extra precise, and with my approach of experimenting by adding a dash or this and more of that, I may have added a little too much of an ingredient and spoiled the recipe. Gluten-Free baking is quite finicky I gather and I have barely started my adventures into it, but these mistakes will only help me get better.

Caramel Gluten-Free Brownies - Candy Coated Culinista

Caramel Gluten-Free Brownies – Candy Coated Culinista

Comments

  1. sharon R. crowley says:

    made this recipe 3 times in a month. Everyone loves them. Brought some to work gave some to neighbours and brought some to a friend on Valentine’s day Love ,love love these brownies. So easy and quick. Yum in my tum!

Leave a Reply

