Flourless Almond Butter Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Flourless Almond Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies - Candy Coated Culinista

Flourless Almond Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies – Candy Coated Culinista

I made these Monday night on a whim. I left work feeling energized and wanting to bake even though on Sunday I had done 3 recipes during my hectic day: Cupcake Decorating #1, Gluten-Free Brownies and Garlic Dill Butter– (the last two to be posted very soon). I got great reviews from this recipe by Mr. C’s co-workers so this baby is being fast-tracked to post. So his colleagues can enjoy this recipe.

Yield/Serving: 12 cookies
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 8-12 min
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 egg
• 1 ¼ cup almond butter (100% almonds)
• ¼ cup golden brown sugar
• ¼ cup Demerara sugar
• 1 tsp baking soda
• ¼ cup bittersweet chocolate chips
• ¼ cup milk chocolate chips
• ½ cup swirl milk chocolate chips (white & milk chocolate)
• 1 tsp coconut extract

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Line two cookie sheets with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.
3. Whisk egg in a large bowl.
4. Add almond butter, sugars and baking soda and combine until well incorporated.
5. Add the chocolate chips and fold until combined.
6. Using a tablespoon, scoop out about one to one and one half tablespoons onto the baking mat or baking sheet.
7. Brush coconut extract onto the top of the cookies and bake in 2 batches of 6 cookies.
8. Bake for 8-12 minutes for a softer cookie. If you would like a crispier cookie increase the cook time by 2 minutes, but keep an eye on the oven.
9. Let cookies cool on the baking mat/parchment paper for 15 minutes, as they will seem too soft. They will require this time to firm up.
10. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Tips
• 3 days later the cookie the almond cookies is still soft. This probably can last 5-7 days in a sealed container at room temperature.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
I had intended to make almond cookies with flour awhile back along with my PB & JJ Thumbprint & Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies, but I felt I was making too many cookies. Mr. C. and I attempted to consume the almond butter but he in particular found it to be “too grainy for (his) taste and was a little dry on its own”. However, in the form of these cookies, this almond butter tasted much better. Mr. C. emailed me at work and said “Your cookies are a hit”. I even got one comment from one of my email subscribers that is also Mr. C’s co-worker: “I love your wife”. With a response like that I can’t help but want to make more treats. I got a big smile from that comment.

My thoughts
Soft, sweet and gooey. This tasted much better than I expected. I am used to making cookies with flour and I also expect when recipes are changed at the base ingredient level they will taste funny. My hopes weren’t high at all, but this time I was really pleasantly surprised. They looked and tasted like cookies and I didn’t miss the flour. The cookies were quite crumbly so maybe the flour is what binds all the ingredients into one cohesive mass. In any event I enjoyed this thoroughly and could taste the lightness to this recipe.

Leave a Reply

