Cauliflower & Carrot Soup

Cauliflower & Carrot Soup - Candy Coated Culinista

Cauliflower & Carrot Soup – Candy Coated Culinista

Toronto is under an extreme wind chill warning and after the ice storm we had 2 weeks ago; I am thinking will I ever get warm.

Yield/Serving: 1.5 litres (1500 ml)
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 60 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 7 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 1 cauliflower head, chopped at the florets
• 5 large carrots, peeled and diced
• 2 onions, chopped
• 1 garlic bulb, diced
• 1 cup chick peas, washed and drained
• 7 cups vegetable stock
• 2 tbsp ginger, minced
• 1 tsp salt
• 1 tsp black pepper
• Parsley, for garnish

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Place cauliflower, carrots, onions, garlic and chick peas in a roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil. Roast for 45 to 50 min or until tender and turning a golden brown.
3. In a large saucepan bring vegetable stock and ginger to a boil and let simmer.
4. Pour the roasted vegetable in the saucepan and blend until smooth.
5. Continue to let simmer for 10 more minutes.
6. Serve with a crusty bread or baguette.

Please Enjoy

Review
“The soup was good last night, a little grainy at points and then watery at others, it didn’t mix well but I think that is mostly the carrots. Taste wise it was really really good.”

My thoughts
I was underwhelmed with this. For some reason I thought that this recipes would make me love cauliflower and carrots, and sadly it didn’t. I have never liked cauliflower (I am a broccoli girl) and I know cauliflower doesn’t really have a taste, but I can taste it and I don’t enjoy it. I found it hard to keep the texture consistent, but I also used an immersion blender. Give it a try but cut down the portion size if you’re not a fan like me of cauliflower.

Comments

  1. This looks delicious! It’s stupidly cold in Colorado right now too, so I always have a craving for warm soups. Saw your picture on Instagram, and FINALLY made my way onto your blog too!:)

    • Thanks Nina. I went and checked out your site a few weeks back when you mentioned something about Bloglovin. So now I check bloglovin out also. I wish I was in Colorado to make use of your photography skills. Thanks for checking me out

  2. We have wind chill of -50 here in Chicago today, so I have definitely been make a lot of soups!

  3. Just printed this out! It’ s on my next week’s menu. I’m sure it will taste awesome. Can’t wait to make it.

Leave a Reply

