Mango Sorbet

Mango Sorbet - Candy Coated Culinista

Mango Sorbet – Candy Coated Culinista

I am now the proud owner of an ice-cream maker. I was telling my mother in-law that I had to make sorbet without the use of an ice cream maker over the thanksgiving holidays (blueberry sorbet), and she said I could gladly have hers as it was still in the box, unused. When I got my maker I excitedly knew I could dust off the sole ice-cream book I bought almost 2 years ago. To be honest I can’t tell you why I would buy an ice cream book when I don’t own an ice cream maker, but for some reason I did. So I thumbed through and started with an easy frozen treat and since I’m familiar with sorbet this is where my ice cream journey begins…

(My goal is to be able to make ice cream to accompany my desserts for Christmas dinner at the in-laws this year; possibly egg nog or candy cane flavored.)

From Sweet Cream and Sugar Cones from Bi-Rite Creamery

Special Equipment: Ice Cream maker
Shelf Life: 1 week
Yield/Serving: 4 cups (about 1000 ml)
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: See your manufacturer’s instructions
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
Sorbet
• 3 large ripe mangoes (about 3 pounds total)
• 6 tbsp water
• 6 tbsp tapioca or corn syrup
• 3 tbsp strained fresh lime juice
• ¼ tsp kosher salt
• ½ cup 1:1 simple syrup
Simple Syrup
1. ½ cup sugar
2. ½ cup water

Assembly
Sorbet
Make the Base
1. Peel mangoes, cut the flesh away from the pits, and cut the fruit into chunks. Puree in a blender or food processor until smooth. Strain into a medium bowl, pressing on the solids to extract as much liquid as possible.
2. Add the water, tapioca syrup, lime juice, salt, and ½ cup of the simple syrup to the strained puree. Whisk until well combined and the salt is completely dissolved.
3. Taste the base. It should taste just a bit too sweet (once sorbet is frozen, it will lose some of its sweetness). Add the remaining simple syrup if you need it.
Freeze the Sorbet
4. Freeze in you ice cream machine according to the manufacturer’s instructions. While the sorbet is churning, put the container you’ll use to store the sorbet into the freezer. Enjoy right away or, for a firmer sorbet, transfer to the chilled container and freeze for about 4 hours.
Simple Syrup
1. Mix the sugar and water in a small saucepan. Dip a pastry brush in water and wash down the sides of pan before heating (stray sugar crystals can prevent the syrup from melting properly).
2. Place over medium heat and stir until the mixture comes to a boil and the sugar has dissolved completely.
3. Remove the pan from the heat and let cool completely. Transfer to a covered container and store in the refrigerator.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
It tasted creamy, bright and fresh. I was surprised the difference between my sorbet by hand and this one with the ice cream maker. It does taste better and keeps its shape for much longer. After I made my sorbet and stored it in a container I was saying to myself I need something better to house my frozen treats; like a proper ice cream container. I managed to find an insulated ice cream container that can keep the ice cream chilled for 90 minutes; which will be perfect for my drive over to the in-laws. But then I was saying this is great but not big enough for my home ice cream needs. I then found an ice cream storage tub. Now my iced treats have a perfect vessel to house my hard work. I can’t wait to start making more.

Comments

  1. very interesting blog , i follow you and will read you , thanks

Leave a Reply

