Pomegranate Lacquered Roast Chicken

Pomegranate Lacquered Roast Chicken - Candy Coated Culinista

Pomegranate Lacquered Roast Chicken – Candy Coated Culinista

I love pomegranates and when they are in season I am enjoying them as much as possible. Yes it is a messy and hard to eat fruit and I’d advise not to eat it in your best clothes, but it is so worth it. There is tartness and sweetness that I love and I enjoy it whether I have the actual fruit or the juice. This recipe has been on my “to-do list” and now that the seasons are right I made a seasonally flavoured roast chicken.

From Heather Cristo

Yield/Serving: 6 per chicken
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 1 hour & 55 min
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
• 1- 3 or 4 pound whole chicken
• Kosher salt, to taste
• Season salt, to taste
• Ground black pepper, to taste
• Paprika, to taste
• Onion powder, to taste
• Garlic powder, to taste
• 4 tbsp butter
• 1 cup white wine
• 2 cups pomegranate juice
• ¼ cup sugar
• 1 whole Pomegranate for garnish

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Rinse the chicken in cold water and dry with a paper towel, and set in a baking pan.
3. Sprinkle with spices and rub onto chicken.
4. In a small saucepan melt butter and then add wine, pomegranate juice, sugar and simmer on medium-low heat for 20 minutes or until the liquid has reduced to half.
5. Pour the liquid over the chicken and place on the middle rack in the oven.
6. Roast the chicken for 1 hour 35 minutes, basting every 20 minutes with the pans juices.
7. Let chicken rest for 10 minutes and serve.

Tips
• Sprinkle with some pomegranate seeds and serve.
• Invest in a turkey baster. I have made a few turkeys now and I still don’t own a baster. It’s time I get myself one I think.
• I basted more than the recipe suggested. (about every 20 minutes)
• The pomegranate sauce did reduce by half but I still found it to be very liquidy. The roast didn’t end up having a pomegranate stained lacquered look that the picture had at all. Next time I would make myself a pomegranate jam the day before and then brush on the jam, and use that along with the pomegranate reduction in the recipe above.
• I added more spices to the chicken (season salt, black pepper, paprika, and onion and garlic powder).
• Use the drippings for a gravy.
• This is a great recipe to make more than one roast of. 3 roast chickens fit into my baking pan perfectly and I used the same amounts in the recipes and it came out delicious. I made one for dinner, one to freeze and one for my dad.
• Serve with au gratin potatoes along with steamed green beans and carrots.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
“It was wonderfully moist and the skin had a sweet taste to it. I would’ve liked a bit more crisp on the skin but the meat was so perfectly roasted and was literally fall off the bone delicious.”

“This was amazing babe”, “That dinner last night was incredible”, “Luscious chicken”

My thoughts
I am gushing about this roast chicken. It was juicy, sweet and tart and it is basically fool proof besides the pomegranate lacquered part and the need for the skin to be more crispy. This would also be a good alternate to a thanksgiving turkey for those who don’t like turkey. The drippings and the pomegranate sauce made a tasty gravy.

Leave a Reply

