Pistachio Dark Chocolate Soufflé

Pistachio Dark Chocolate Soufflé - Candy Coated Culinista

Pistachio Dark Chocolate Soufflé – Candy Coated Culinista

“Please don’t sink! Please don’t sink!” is what I have been thinking since I knew I was going to be making a soufflés for the cooking challenge. The word Soufflé much like many other French foods I want to try sound so daunting. (I’m thinking of my first attempt at macarons: Lemony Letdown Frosted Flakes Macaron.) All I can see when I think soufflé is what happens on TV shows. A woman working tirelessly to make her precious soufflé; the kitchen and the woman is in utter disarray while she has her guest in the other room waiting for dessert. She opens the oven with wide eyes only to have the thing deflate the moment it comes out of the oven…and cue the canned laughter. This will not be happening to me…. I hope. I do have back up eggs and chocolate just in case to be safe. See my picture here in the gallery.

Altered from Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 6 – ½ cup Ramekins
Prep Time: 30 min
Cook Time: 10-12 min.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Soufflé
• 1tsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
• 5 tbsp granulated sugar
• 200g good quality 70% dark chocolate, finely chopped
• 1/3 cup 35% cream
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 3 eggs, separated
• 3 egg whites
• 1/3 cup pistachio’s finely ground.
• ¼ tsp Maldon sea salt (optional)
Bailey’s Caramel Cream
• ½ cup 35%cream
• 2 tbsp Bailey’s Caramel liqueur

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Butter the inside of 6 ramekins that hold about ½ cup each. Dust with 2 tbsp sugar, tilting cups to coat evenly, then tap out any excess sugar. Arrange ramekins on a large baking sheet.
2. Fill a medium saucepan with about 1” of water. Bring to a simmer over medium-low. Combine chocolate, 1/3 cup cream and vanilla in a large heatproof bowl. Set bowl over saucepan, covering saucepan completely. Stir often until chocolate is melted, about 3 to 4 min. Remove from heat, and let cool slightly.
3. Beat 6 egg whites in a medium bowl, using an electric mixer on high, until soft peaks form when beaters are lifted, about 2 min. Gradually beat in the remaining 3 tbsp sugar until stiff peaks form when beaters are lifted, about 2 min. Set aside. Using same electric mixer (no need to wash beaters), beat 3 egg yolks in a medium bowl until pale and thickened, about 3 min. Stir ½ cup chocolate mixture into yolks. Fold in remaining chocolate mixture and ground pistachio’s until blended. Gently fold in remaining whites. Pour or ladle mixture into prepared ramekins until full.
4. Bake in centre of oven until soufflés are puffed and tops are firm to the touch, 10 to 12 min. Sprinkle with salt.
5. Beat ½ cup cream until stiff peaks form when beaters are lifted. Beat in liqueur. Serve with soufflés.

Tips
• Whatever size ramekins you use, just ensure you fill it to the top.
• Add some pistachio’s on top of the caramel cream.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. said “the soufflé was excellent and it had a very airy feel to it but thick at the same time. The chocolate was very rich and as you got the bottom of the soufflé it felt like you were getting a sponge cake which was really tasty.

My thoughts
For a person who doesn’t eat or like milk or dark chocolate, I really enjoyed this. It was light, airy and decadent. I am used to ramekins that are one cup sized and when I made this recipe the first time, I didn’t realize that it wouldn’t puff up to a cup size. Then and there I decided to make this a second time. I remembered that on an episode of Masterchef the pressure test was soufflé; and the ramekins were filled right to the top, so I went back and did it again. (It’s funny what the mind remembers, and retrieves when needed.) My second attempt was much better and the centre was perfect. When I saw my first attempt I was like this is okay and tasty, but me being the perfectionist I wanted to try it again and get that sense of accomplishment and completion, and I did. Sure I wasted 1 dozen eggs and 4 packages of expensive dark chocolate but you know what, it felt so good seeing my second attempt and knowing I can do this no problem that I didn’t care about the waste. Mr. C. still ate my first batch of “soufflé cakes” as they were still edible. Now I can check the dreaded soufflé off my list and accept my next challenge with no regrets.

Dark Chocolate Soufflé - Candy Coated Culinista

Dark Chocolate Soufflé – Candy Coated Culinista

Comments

  1. Thanks for the link Uncle Rave. I am reading a few of your posts right now. Have a great day, and yes Souffle’s are awesome and labour intensive but oh so enjoyable. Even when your full you can always make room for this treat. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. […] Pistachio Dark Chocolate Soufflé (candycoatedculinista.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

