Cinque Sapori Pizza & Caramelized Banana Wal-Nutella Dessert Pizza

Cinque Sapori Pizza & Caramelized Banana Wal-Nutella Dessert Pizza - Candy Coated Culinista

Cinque Sapori Pizza & Caramelized Banana Wal-Nutella Dessert Pizza – Candy Coated Culinista

Sometimes I find myself being a highly suggestible person. In life I am largely un-swayed and firm in my beliefs and thoughts. Granted I am always willing and open to new ideas I may have just not thought of yet. However when it comes to visual things I see a picture and I feel compelled to try it, make it, re-vamp it and use it as a jumping point for something creative and artistic. I don’t know what it is but I have always been this way and still am a very visual person. I will look at something and get an emotional feeling from it immediately telling me I either like it, hate it or “how can I C.C. this up”. When I received the November issue of Chatelaine there was a pizza on the cover, and when I saw all the great toppings and how mouth-watering it looked, I knew I was making pizza. I started the process of researching how to make dough when the following week the cooking challenge was pizza. It’s lovely when things come together like this. So I started on my pizza journey. Click here to see my photo in their gallery.

Pizza dough recipe from Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 4
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
Dough
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 8g pkg quick-rise instant yeast
• 1 tbsp olive oil
• ¾ tsp salt
Pizza
• 9 tsp medium salsa
• 4 slices soppressata salami, cut in half
• 4 slices Genoa salami, cut into pieces
• Cremini mushrooms, sliced
• Grape tomatoes, sliced
• Mint leaves
• 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
• cormeal
• ¾ cup mozzarella cheese, grated
• ¾ cup mild cheddar, grated
Caramelized Banana Wal-Nutella Dessert Pizza
• Nutella
• 1 banana, sliced on the bias
• Walnuts, chopped
• 1/3 cup granulated sugar

Assembly
Dough
1. Stir 2 tbsp flour with ½ cup warm water and yeast in a large bowl. Let stand until cloudy and bubbly, about 5 min.
2. Stir in the remaining flour and ½ cup more warm water, oil and salt.
3. Stir until the dough starts to come together.
4. Transfer dough to a well-floured surface.
5. Knead until dough is smooth, 2 to 3 min.
6. Lightly spray same bowl with oil and return dough.
7. Cover loosely with a kitchen towel and let rest for 1 hour.
8. Dough should double in size.
9. Divide dough into 4 portions and roll into 8” circles.
Cinque Sapori Pizza
1. Infuse the mint leaves with balsamic vinegar in a small bowl.
2. Spread 3 tbsp of salsa on 3 of the pizzas, leaving space around the edges for crust.
3. Sprinkle some cheese down and add the salami, mushrooms, tomatoes and mint.
4. Add some more cheese to the top and spread cornmeal around the edges of each pizza.
5. Bake at 425°F for 15 minutes.
6. Slice and serve.
Caramelized Banana Wal-Nutella Dessert Pizza
1. Spread nutella onto pizza dough, leaving 1 cm space for crust.
2. Place bananas and walnuts on the pizza.
3. In a small heavy bottomed non-reactive pot, pour sugar into pot and ensure it is evenly spread out on medium-high heat until sugar becomes an amber brown colour.
4. Drizzle over pizza and bake at 425°F for 15 minutes.
5. Slice and serve.

Tips
• If the sugar smells like it’s burnt then start over. Once the sugar is burnt and bitter there is no going back. Start over.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. was saying this smells great from the moment I was prepping and he wasn’t disappointed with my pizza.

My thoughts
Believe it or not this was my first time making a rising dough. I had fun watching the active yeast do its thing and I was pleasantly surprised with this pizza and will be making it again. My selection of ingredients tasted great. Truth be told I was supposed to use basil instead of mint, but the first container of basil looked a little decomposed and I grabbed another pack; it was however mint. Sometimes mistakes still taste great. The dessert pizza tasted exactly like I expected. Chocolately, nutty and with bananas and caramel on top. I think I will be making more homemade pizza in the future for sure.

Leave a Reply

