Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Pie - Candy Coated Culinista

Key Lime Pie – Candy Coated Culinista

It was United Way Cultural day at Mr. C’s office last Friday and I was asked to make some goodies. Correction I was told I am making my 2 dozen chocolate diablo cookies (I guess people like it) and I was allowed to choose my second dish. How considerate right? I decided to make a key lime pie with a toasted meringue top. I wanted to make the meringue as I loved how it came out in my sky-high pumpkin pie. I’m not a stranger to making key lime treats as I made key lime bars before, so I was hoping this would come off without a hitch and it did.

Yield/Serving: 8
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 30 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 3 egg yolks, beaten
• 1 can (300 ml) Sweetened Condensed Milk
• 3 limes, juiced or ½ cup lime juice
• 6 drops of green food colouring (optional)
• 1 readymade graham cracker crust
• 3 eggs whites
• 1 ½ cups confectioner’s sugar
• Lime zest

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 325°F
2. Whisk eggs and sweetened condensed milk together for 1 minute in an electric mixer.
3. Add in lime fresh juice and 6 drops of food colouring.
4. Pour into readymade pie crust.
5. Bake in oven for 30 minutes.
6. Let cool for completely.
7. Once cooled chill in fridge foe 2 hours minimum.
8. In the electric mixer pour in egg whites and slowly add the confectioner’s sugar.
9. Pour on top and torch with kitchen torch or broil in oven.

Tips
• Use fresh limes preferably.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C’s co-workers enjoyed the pie and it went fast.

One of my best reviews came from my friend. She told me “That was amazing! I have never had Key Lime pie before and I definitely want more.” Her sister quickly said “She loved it C.C., she told about this amazing pie three times and raved about it again and again; telling me about this pie like I hadn’t heard this story already. If she got that for Christmas she’d be happy. ” Nothing gets better than that. I felt great hearing this.

My thoughts
If you ever have to make a dessert on short notice, I suggest making this key-lime pie.

Leave a Reply

