Pumpkin Chocolate Bundt

Pumpkin Chocolate Bundt - Candy Coated Culinista

Pumpkin Chocolate Bundt – Candy Coated Culinista

I spent Sunday morning waiting for the LCBO to open. I don’t drink except for the occasional cocktail so when I went to the LCBO at 10:30am and realized it wasn’t open yet I knew I wasn’t a regular there. I came back at 11:50am for the noon opening to find a line up of 15–20 people I kid you not and I just chuckled to myself and thought “These people are serious”. I was waiting for the pumpkin cooking club challenge to come, since Canadian Thanksgiving is on October 14th 2013, it was inevitable I thought. So I had my pure pumpkin puree on hand already when the challenge was posted. When I saw the recipe for the Ultimate Pumpkin Loaf, I decided to get creative and put my Candy Coated Culinista twist on it. I’ve been thinking about how I can get people to like pumpkin more in desserts more. I seem to find pumpkins get a bad rap; you either love or hate it. I am on the fence though, with me it all depends on how it is presented to me. Yes they are the quintessential fall squash, but they seem to be in one of two places in pumpkin pie or on the porch and butchered up for Halloween with a light shining from within. So this challenge gave me the chance to experiment and let me say it was touch and go for a bit there, as I was looking through the oven window praying this thing rises.

Click here to see my picture on the cooking club gallery page.

Altered from Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 12
Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time: 40-45 min
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
• Cooking spray
• 1 ¾ all purpose flour
• 1 tsp Baking soda
• ½ tsp cinnamon
• ½ tsp ginger spice
• ½ tsp nutmeg
• ½ tsp salt
• 2 eggs
• 1 cup brown sugar
Melting Chocolate
• 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chunks
• 1 tsp sunflower oil
Pumpkin
• 1 cup pure pumpkin puree
• 1/3 cup pumpkin ale
• ¼ cup sunflower oil
• 1 tsp vanilla
Chocolate
• 1/3 cup pumpkin ale
• ¼ cup sunflower oil
• 1 tsp vanilla
Glaze
• 2/3 cup icing sugar
• 2 tbsp pumpkin ale
• ¼ cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
• 1 tsp vanilla

Assembly
1. Preheat over to 350°F. Lightly spray the Bundt pan with cooking spray.
2. Stir flour with baking soda, spices and salt in a medium bowl.
3. Whisk eggs with brown sugar in a large bowl, and add in flour mixture.
4. Pour semisweet chocolate into a microwave safe bowl and add 1 tsp of oil and cook until all the chocolate is melted. Check the chocolate at 30 seconds intervals to ensure it doesn’t burn, and stir each time.
5. Split mixture in half and add half to the electric mixer.
6. Pour in pumpkin puree, 1/3 cup ale, 1/3 sunflower oil & 1tsp vanilla into the electric mixer and whisk until combined.
7. With the remaining half of the mixture pour into a clean mixer bowl and add chocolate, oil, ale and vanilla.
8. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the prepared pan, followed by the chocolate mixture and smooth the top.
9. Bake in the centre of oven until it is dark golden and a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean.
10. Let cool for 15 min and then run a silicone knife spatula along the edges transfer to rack to cool.
11. Whisk icing sugar and pumpkin ale in mixer and spoon over Bundt ad add pepitas

Tips
• Pumpkin ale is sold I beer or liquor stores during the fall; but cream ale works just as well.
• Since its fall I found Pumpkin seeds at Metro on a random trip to the market and saved myself the trip to a Latin grocery store. They were much bigger seeds and super spicy and salty, but you only get a few seeds with each slice so it didn’t alter the flavour in any way.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
They were all gone by 8:30am at Mr. C’s office and that made me smile. But two said they aren’t fans of pumpkin, they really enjoyed the chocolate but they didn’t care for the pumpkin.

My thoughts
I was pleasantly surprised with what came out of my oven. When I split the mixture into two the chocolate part looked so dry that I decided to add more sunflower oil and ale to get it wet. If I had left it drier there was no way it was going to turn out right. I will be making this for Thanksgivings dinner with the family. This is the first year my dad is up to having Thanksgiving out since my mom has passed away and I want the desserts to be extra special. The in laws make a mean Thanksgiving dinner with Fresh un-frozen turkey, homemade cranberry sauce, green beans with almond slivers, creamy mashed potatoes, and a parsnip mash. So that leaves me with dessert and I haven’t even mentioned the appetizers. I can’t wait and I hope I just hope my dessert hold up to the amazing meal. There will be
more recipes to come. I am planning to make a cranberry molasses cake and an apple caramel trifle and I can’t wait.

Variation October 13th 2013
Yesterday I made another Bundt for Thanksgiving at the in-laws and I used water instead of Pumpkin Ale in step 6. I also used swirled milk & white chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet chocolate chunks in step 7. Please use the same measurements. Mr. C. said this tasted better than the first batch. I served it with freshly whipped vanilla whipped cream. Everyone at the Thanksgiving dinner enjoyed it and loved the combination of pumpkin & chocolate.

Comments

  1. Catherine Adam says:

    Having been the in-law having CCC over for dinner, let me say the desserts were fabulous! The Chocolate Pumpkin bundt cake, served with fresh whipped cream, was to die for. C’s father had the Cranberry Molasses cake, with butter sauce, and enjoyed it so much, he had a second serving! What a great Thanksgiving dinner we all had.

Leave a Reply

