Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie - Candy Coated Culinista

Pumpkin Pie – Candy Coated Culinista

Last year I had 4 Thanksgiving dinners to attend; this is in no way the normal for me it just happened that way and all I knew was it was going to be a busy long weekend. I prepared a full diner for myself and my dad, me and Mr. C, and then desserts for dinner at the in-laws and at my God-Daughters. My youngest God-daughter was Christened on the Sunday prior to Thanksgiving so the reception was Thanksgiving themed of course. I decided to make apple pie and pumpkin pie for the last two dinners. As I will not have too much time and I need some simple but tasty dessert options, these two fit the bill. This was my first attempt at making pumpkin pie, but not pies in general so I used my pie baking knowledge and made me some pies.

Yield/Serving: Makes 3 pies
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 cup sugar
• ½ tsp salt
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• ½ tsp nutmeg
• ½ tsp mixed spice
• 2 eggs, lightly beaten
• 1 can (15 ounces) Pumpkin Pie Filling
• 1 cup of half & half
• 3 unbaked pastry shells (9 inches)
• Whipped cream or ice cream, optional

Assembly/Method
1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
2. In a small bowl combine the sugar, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, mixed spice.
3. In a large bowl lightly beat the two eggs and then add the pumpkin and the sugar mixture.
4. Slowly stir in milk until well incorporated.
5. Pour into pastry shells.
6. Bake at 400°F for 10 minutes and reduce heat to 350°F for 50 minutes longer, or until a knife inserted comes out clean.
7. Cool on a wire rack.
8. Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream if desired.
9. Refrigerate leftovers.

Tips
• You can use milk instead of half and half.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C said “The pumpkin pie was delish! The crust was nice and crunchy at the edge without being burnt and the pumpkin filling was soft, moist and tasted wonderful. I couldn’t stop at just one slice!”

My thoughts
Using the one can of pumpkin filling gave me 3 pies. My intentions were to only make two, but I had enough filling for more. This made Mr. C. quite happy as we had what I have coined a “House Pie”.

Leave a Reply

