Mini Jumbleberry Tarts & No Cook Jumbleberry Jam

Mini Jumbleberry Tarts - Candy Coated Culinista

Mini Jumbleberry Tarts – Candy Coated Culinista

I have never made tarts before and I stay away from anything that requires rolling dough. I lack the counter space and the skill to evenly roll. After making these tarts I know I will need to hone these skills. This recipe looked so enticing I made the homemade jam immediately and let the flavours marry and then I would tackle my tarts later. I have 6 weeks until the jam goes bad, so I have time right? I was ready to make this recipe I realized the dough had to sit in the fridge for 1 ½ hrs prior to rolling. Way to not read the recipe in full C.C. That meant I found myself making dough @ 6:45 in the morning to get this recipes completed in time.

Mr. C. was going to beat me home from work, so he pulled out the dough to rest outside and when I got home I worked fast as I had to beat the light to get a good photo. I put them in the oven and I watched as the jam spilled over in some of the tarts. I was thinking did I do something wrong and is it possible to not have spillage? Looking at the photo I knew I was doing okay, just not as pretty as the photo as usual. When they came out I wasn’t really impressed with myself. They looked okay but not great and Mr. C. keeps telling me time and time again that I am too hard on myself. Today I am starting to believe this is true, you see it’s the perfectionist in me. I wasn’t even sure if I was going to submit my semi-lemony letdowns in my eyes, but Mr. C. said to submit it and I’m glad I followed his advice.

This was a Chatelaine Cooking Club challenge and I can’t believe it but I won the best photo again. I must be doing something right, even if I can’t see it. I won a $100 gift card to Chapters.Indigo and I have some cookbooks that I will now be purchasing thanks to the cooking club. The lesson here is beauty is in the eye of the beholder and to never doubt yourself and just go for it. For the push I needed Mr. C. will be getting a treat from his wishlist also my treat. See my winning picture here.

From Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 24
Prep Time: 30 min.
Cook Time: 25-30 min.
Difficulty level is: Hard

Ingredients
• 2 cups all purpose flour
• 1 cup cold unsalted butter, cubed
• ½ tsp salt
• ½ 260-g cream cheese, at room temperature
• 1 egg, divided
• 1 ½ cups jumbleberry jam
• Coarse sugar (Optional)

Assembly
1. Whirl flour, butter and salt in a food processor until coarse crumbs form.
2. Add cream cheese and egg yolk.
3. Pulse just until dough starts to form a ball.
4. Divide dough into 2 portions.
5. Shape each into a flat disc, then cover with plastic wrap.
6. Refrigerate until firm 1 ½ hours.
7. Preheat oven to 375°F.
8. On a lightly floured surface, roll each portion of dough into a 12`x 12`square, about 1é4`thick.
9. Cut into 24 3`circles.
10. Gently push rounds into a 24 cup mini muffin pan, pressing along the bottom, then up the sides until pastry is slightly over the rim.
11. Gather and re-roll dough scraps to ¼” thick.
12. Cut into 1” stars (or other shapes) using a cutter.
13. Fill each dough cup with 2 tsp jam.
14. Lay star cut-outs on jam.
15. Brush edges and stars reserved egg white, then sprinkle with coarse sugar.
16. Bake in centre of oven until tops are brown, 25-30 min.
17. Let stand 10 min, then remove tarts from pan.

Tips
• Make the jam in advance.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. liked them and loved the jam.

My thoughts These tasted wonderful the cream cheese in the pastry was a great touch and the jam was amazing. It didn’t look professional but it looked rustic.

No Cook Jumbleberry Jam

This jam is to go in my mini Jumbleberry tarts. The recipe from Chatelaine required me to go get mason jars and freezer jam pectin. I had 2 packets of Club House No Cook freezer Jam and based off of both recipes this is much easier and as I’m a busy lady. I used this method and saved myself a few bucks and a trip to the hardware store. I also added blackberries as I thought it would taste even better.

Yield/Serving: 3 cups
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 cup strawberries, chopped
• 1 cup raspberries
• 1 cup blueberries
• 1 cup blackberries
• Lemon zest from one lemon
• 1 cup granulated sugar
• 1 – 45g pack no cook freezer jam

Assembly
1. Wash and rinse your jar.
2. Place prepared fruit in a large bowl.
3. With a potato masher, mash the berries.
4. Stir in lemon zest
5. Gently stir in sugar and allow to stand for 15 minutes.
6. Slowly sprinkle in gelling powder, a little at a time onto the mixture, while stirring for 3 minutes.
7. Let stand for 5 minutes.
8. Gently stir again for 1 minute.
9. Pour jam into jars and leave 1” space at the top.
10. Seal tightly and jam is ready to eat.
11. Store in the fridge for up to 6 weeks, or store in freezer for up to one year.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. was trying to sneak into my jam jar before I even got to make my tarts. It was that good from the taste testing.

My thoughts
The Jam is warm and fruity and with the lemon there is a brightness to jam. I have even caught myself licking the spoon or butter knife because I didn’t want to waste a morsel. I will be trying to make my own home jam from now on when the mood strikes me. There are so many possible combinations I can’t wait to make some more.

The Books & Cookie Cutters I bought with my Giftcard

The Books & Cookie Cutters I bought with my Giftcard

Trackbacks

  1. […] • Serve with jumbleberry jam or strawberry […]

Leave a Reply

