Sweet Corn & Black Bean Salad

Black Bean & Corn Salad - Candy Coated Culinista

Black Bean & Corn Salad – Candy Coated Culinista

Dr. Says I need more iron in my diet. I’m trying to get iron naturally and not eat those awful supplements. I was thinking of what I could make that contains the nutrients I need but also has some flavour too. Bobby Flay is big on south western cuisine, and beans which are a source of iron are in south western dishes. I think this is my jumping point. I used this recipe for a Chatelaine Cooking Club submission as my recipe was very similar to the one they had for the Sweet Corn Challenge. I incorporated their ingredients into mine and it tasted great. This was the first time Chatelaine was given away prizes for the cooking challenge and they liked my photo the most. I won a $100 Starbuck Gift Card and a bag of their (Canadian) True North Blend. I was so happy when I won I actually did a happy dance, and my cat stared at me all puzzled as I danced. This was my first prize ever for anything and I have been working hard at thinking about my food photography. My skills are improving week after week and now I just have to start drinking coffee, so I can savour those winnings. Lol. Link to photo.

Yield/Serving: 4
Prep Time: 10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1/4 cup red-wine vinegar
• 1 tsp olive oil
• ½ fresh lime, juiced
• 2 tbsp honey
• 341ml corn kernels, rinsed and drained
• 3/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
• ½ red onion, diced
• 2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
• ½ tsp cumin
• Red pepper flakes, to taste
• Salt, to taste
• Ground black pepper, to taste
• Garlic powder, to taste

Assembly/Method
1. In a large bowl using a whisk mix the red-wine vinegar, olive oil, fresh lime juice and honey.
2. Add corn, black beans, red onion & cilantro together into bowl and mix.
3. Add cumin, salt, pepper and garlic powder and combine.
4. Serve with tortilla chips, salsa and grilled chicken breast if desired.

Tips
• This taste better the next day, as the ingredients have more time to marry. If you can plan ahead make it a day early or the leftovers will taste much better than the day before.
• Serve with Tortilla chips and salsa.
• Serve with grilled chicken breasts for some extra protein.

Please Enjoy

Leave a Reply

