Blueberry Sorbet

Blueberry Sorbet - Candy Coated Culinista

Blueberry Sorbet – Candy Coated Culinista

The Chatelaine cooking challenge this time was ice cream. I was happy because I haven’t made any frozen desserts in my cooking repertoire. But then I saw that all the recipes required the use of an ice cream maker. Nooooo I don’t have one, and I don’t want to spend $70 to try making ice cream either, so I said I will try and make it by hand. If it’s not a Lemony Letdown I will submit it and see what happens. I submitted my photo on Tuesday and got an RT saying “I’m a pro” in response to my blueberry sorbet made without an ice cream maker. “I wish I was a pro” I thought. Cut to me Friday morning and me actually seeing my photo on the cover page for this week’s Chateliane Cooking Club Ice Cream challenge and I was floored.

Yield/Serving: 6
Prep Time: 5 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 2 cups Blueberries
• 3 tbsp Honey
• 2 ½ cup Ice cubes
• 1 tsp vodka (optional)

Assembly
1. Add blueberries, honey and blend in a blender.
2. Add in ice cubes and blend until smooth.
3. Put sorbet in a container and put in the freezer and check in on it until it has firm up slightly.
4. Scoop and serve. Add fresh whole berries if desired.

Tips
• I will try and add a little vodka the next time I make this as mine was a block of ice after staying in the fridge overnight.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This was quick and easy; I would probably add a little more sugar. If I ever buy an ice cream maker, I will be trying the recipes and see how different they taste. The below recipes were the two I was debating between from Chatelaine when I realized I don’t have an ice cream maker. I just took ingredients from their Tangy Lemon Sorbet & Blueberry-swirl Frozen Yogurt and went mad scientist.

Leave a Reply

