Couscous Salad

Couscous Salad - Candy Coated Culinista

Couscous Salad – Candy Coated Culinista

I did it! I have finally made a dish where I can say I enjoyed eating couscous. I like couscous but I’ve had a hard time finding a way to enjoy it. I did it again! I Now have a dish where I can actually eat chick peas and not cringe. Honestly I don’t like chick peas at all, but in this recipe it works and I can say “yum”.

Yield/Serving: 4
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 5 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• Parsley, handful chopped
• 80 ml of canned Chickpeas,
• 50 ml sultana raisins
• 250 ml grape tomatoes, halved
• ½ Green pepper, diced
• ½ Red pepper, diced
• 1 green onion, chopped
• 1 cup chicken broth
• Salt, to taste
• Black Pepper, to taste
• 1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive oil
• Couscous, 160g

Assembly
1. Prep and add the parsley, chickpeas, sultana raisins, grape tomatoes, green & red peppers green onion into a large bowl.
2. Bring 1 cup of chicken broth (or water) to a boil.
3. Add the couscous to the chicken broth.
4. Stir and cover.
5. Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.
6. Fluff with a fork.
7. Add salt, pepper and extra virgin olive oil to taste and combine.

Tips
• Try also adding some of the following lemon juice, cilantro, basil, dill, or mint, honey, feta cheese, balsamic vinegar, garlic, or try using Moroccan spices like cinnamon, cumin, turmeric, ginger, paprika, anise seeds, sesame seeds, coriander, saffron or toasted pine nuts. I will use some of these ingredients the next time I make it.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I will be adding this to my side dish rotation, now that I am in love with this recipe. The couscous tasted fresh and was very colourful. Not one ingredient over powered any other and they flavours married well. I had leftovers the next day for lunch and it re-heated just as well.

Leave a Reply

