Pink Ombre Cake

Pink Ombre Vanilla Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Pink Ombre Vanilla Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

I have been pinning these cakes in its many variations, I even have a purple ombre cake with piped roses on my title page for my food board. I love the look of this cake but I never thought I’d be attempting this and so soon. I typically like to start small and work my way up to those more involved and technical recipes. This to me seems like I’m starting near the top as I don’t bake full cakes. Sure I bake cakes that go into loaf pans and cupcakes, but I have never made a fully layered cake that is also decorated. This was a part of the Chatelaine Cooking Clubs Cake Week Challenge. I decided to use this challenge as a lesson in pushing myself and see what comes of it. To my surprise this morning (I checked the moment I woke up at 5:25am. I went right to my ipad and scrolled through the best pics, found my cake and went back into the bedroom all giddy and put the screen in front of Mr. C.’s face) “I got selected again”. Click here to see my picture.

Recipe from Chatelaine

Yield/Serving: 12
Prep Time: 1hr.
Cook Time: 20 – 25 min., plus 55 min. Cooling time
Difficulty level is: Hard (the cakes were easy, but the decorating I found hard)

Ingredients
Vanilla Cake

• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 1 ½ tsp baking powder
• ¾ tsp salt
• 2/3 cups unsalted butter, at room temperature
• 1 ¼ cups granulated sugar
• 2 eggs
• 1 ½ tsp vanilla
• 1 cup milk
• pink gel food colouring
Frosting
• 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
• 1 tsp vanilla
• 4 cups icing sugar
• ¼ cup milk
• pink gel food colouring

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly oil or spray four (4) 6-inch round cake pans and lines with parchment paper.
2. Stir flour with baking powder and salt in medium bowl. Beat butter with granulated sugar in a large bowl, with an electric mixer on medium, until fluffly. Add eggs, one at a a time, beating well and scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Beat in 1 tsp vanilla. Reduce speed and beat in one-third of flour mixture, then add half the milk. Repeat, ending with flour mixture.
3. Divide batter into 4 bowls (about 1 cup each). Set 1 portion aside (do not colour). Add varying amounts of food colouring to the remaining 3 portions, to create 3 shades of pink. Scrape each bowl of batter into a prepared pan.
4. Bake in centre of oven until a cake tester inserted in the centre of cakes comes out clean, 20 to 25 min. Cool in pans on a rack for 10 minutes, then turn cakes out onto rack. Remove parchment. Cool completely, about 30 min.
5. Beat 1 cup butter in a large bowl, with an electric mixer on medium, until creamy, 1 min. Add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup icing sugar. Beat for 1 min. Reduce speed and beat in remaining surgar in 3 parts, alternating with milk (in 2 parts) and ending with sugar. Beat on medium-high, scraping down sides of bowl as needed, until fluffy and smooth, 1 to 2 min.
6. Assemble cake by setting the darkest pink layer on the cake stand. Lay short strips of parchment under edges of cake to protect the stand. Spread with ½ cup icing. Continue with remaining layers and icing, with white layer on top. Spread a thin layer of icing on sides and top of cake. Refrigerate until icing is firm, about 15 min.
7. Divide remaining icing into 4 bowls. Set 1 portion aside (do not colour). Add varying amounts of food colouring to remaining 3 portions, to create 3 shades of pink. Spread the darkest pink icing around the bottom quarter of the cake. Spread the next darkest shade of icing above the first layer of icing, then continue with remaining icing. Spread white icing on top of the cake. Garnish with silver dragees. Remove parchment.

Tips
•Chatelaine tip – Gel colouring goes a long way. Use toothpicks dipped into get to get a small amount. Build colours by adding a little bit of gel at a time.
•I used regular food colouring for the cake batter and frosting and it came out just as well.
•Work fast with the icing, I was moving way too slow to do what was needed to accomplish the desired look.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. was really proud of me and said it looked great. (You got to love the motivators in your life eh. I see all the imperfections and the icing wasn’t smooth etc, and he just sees a beautiful cake)

I tweeted my photo to Chatelaine late Wednesday night and by the morning I had noticed they mentioned me in a tweet and said “Amazing! *applause*” and later that day I got a reply saying It looks great – love the roses on top!

My thoughts
I made this recipe twice as the first time it didn’t turn out for me. My first batch was more like an unleavened cake. I followed the instructions and added the baking powder, yet the batter didn’t rise. So the next day I started over again with my tighter deadline. I tripled the recipe so I could get my cake pans more full. I knew the techniques that needed to be used regarding getting the frosting to match the photo; using an offset spatula and lazy Suzan or a revolving cake stand. Making this cake I realized a revolving cake stand would have come in handy, but with practice and time and honing my skills I’ll get there. I haven’t tasted this batch as my goal was to get the decorating completed and not get to bed too late. I will make the recipe again way down the road and see how the cake tastes, and use different size pans as my cakes had a little bit of the “leaning tower of Pisa” going on. For my first try at layering a cake and decorating a cake I think I did pretty well.

Sidenote – As I post this my cake is in two parts in a cake box as I couldn’t house it upright. The top is smooshed and a chunk was punched out on accident when I tried to dismantle it. Poor pinky never saw it coming, c’est la vie.

Below was the inspiration look. You can see that mine looked way different lol.
Photo coutesy of Chatelaine
Chatelaine Pink Ombre Cake

Trackbacks

  1. […] and I was off. I couldn’t believe how well this turned out. It makes my cake decorating on the pink ombre cake look like a child did it. I know it looked bad when I did it but looking at it now it really did […]

Leave a Reply

